

Car and booster seat law

Ohio's children are required to use belt-positioning booster seats once they outgrow their child safety seats.

Ohio's Child Passenger Safety Law is defined in Ohio Revised Code 4511.81.

Ohio's children are required to use belt-positioning booster seats once they outgrow their child safety seats until they are 8 years old, unless they are at least 4 feet, 9 inches (57 inches) tall.

Ohio's child passenger safety law requires the following:

- Children less than 4 years old or 40 pounds must use a child safety seat meeting federal motor vehicle safety standards.
- Children less than 8 years old, unless they are at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall must use a booster seat.
- Children ages 8-15 must use a child safety (booster) seat or safety belt.

Officer Skip Rasfeld said "All children, regardless of age, should **use a booster seat if under 4 feet, 9 inches tall** to ensure a proper fit of their seatbelt and to reduce the risk of injuries. It is also advised that children under the age of 13 should ride in the rear seat of a vehicle whenever practical. Air bags inflate with such force that they are dangerous for younger children. The back is where it's at!"

Fines will range from a minimum of \$25 to a maximum of \$75 per occurrence. A booster seat can be purchased for as little as \$15. **Don't wait for a ticket!**